2016 Electoral College Overview


By Matthew Mancini (’18)

The electoral college voted on Monday, December 19, 2016 to choose the next president of the United States. There had been a great deal of controversy as to whether the electors would stay true to their respective state’s votes, or to vote against the interests of their state and vote for another candidate, otherwise known as being a faithless elector. However, despite this controversy, the electors remained true to the conclusion that was made on election night and voted for Donald J. Trump to be the 45th president of the United States of America.

Trump received 304 electoral votes, two less than on election night, while Hillary Clinton received 227 votes, five less than on election night. Overall, there were seven faithless electors.

Only two electors from Texas voted against their state’s political interest and voted for Rand Paul, senator from Kentucky, and John Kasich, Governor of Ohio.

There were four faithless electors from Washington state, three voting for 4-star military general and previous Secretary of State, Colin Powell. However, for a protest vote, one elector voted for Spotted Eagle to show their detest for the presidential election.

In Hawaii, one of the four electors also voted against their state’s interest and voted for Vermont senator, Bernie Sanders.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.